





That is all.
A bend in the road is not the end of the road... unless you fail to make the turn.
A friend I have known since the 6th grade is having a birthday next week. She's the same age as I am; well, she is six months older which I repeatedly reminded her of today. Anyway, I was thinking about getting older and friends and thought of a friend I haven't talked to in years... actually, over a decade. She was probably the best "real" friend I had in college. I checked MySpace for her nickname and couldn't find it. I checked Classmates and found her. It was eerie because I felt relieved she was there. I mean, she could have some outdated email in there, but I just took comfort in the fact that I "found" her. I went back to MySpace, tried a few variations on her name, and ended up finding her... as I knew deep down that I would.
Well, being a moron, I accidentally ran my credit card over the limit. I was trying to "overlook" sharing this tidbit with S, when I got a surprising letter in the mail from Chase. The letter so surprised me, though, that I ended up sharing it with him--and, thus, revealing my faux pas with the credit limit. Here's what it said, though:
A couple weeks ago I saw an article on the AOL front page about Nikki Catsouras. I saw a smiling girl, read she had died, thought it was a shame, and chose not to read the article lest I be depressed the rest of the day. Today I found myself thumbing through a Newsweek in a waiting room and found the same picture looking back at me. As I started to read the article, I was appalled to learn of the other pictures of Nikki Catsouras that are circling around the internet--some 3 years after her death in a horrific car crash--and of the torment and pain they have caused her family.
I just finished watching The Reader, a film based on a novel by Bernhard Schlink. I have to say that I am left with an empty feeling that I just can't describe. It is a similar emptiness to the feeling I had after watching The Lover. I feel drained and hollow.
One more comment on the whole "Swine Flu," which I feel has been blown completely out-of-proportion to the point it should be called "Swine Paranoia." I used to joke that it should be renamed the "Pig Flu." I thought it sounded better. However, after reading about all the pigs that were slaughtered in Egypt, I am no longer laughing.
Well, I am sick. Actually, I am getting over it now. I think I was infected by my cousin when I went to visit for a funeral. Usually I am infected by carrier monkies--oops, I mean "children--when I visit. This time, though, my adult cousin assured me she wasn't sick anymore before hugging me. Uh huh. The worst part is that I got S sick, and I feel awful for that. He took care of me the last 11 days. Then, bam. I thought we were in the clear. Apparently not.